Enumclaw's Kasey Kahne rocks to NASCAR trucks victory

MOTOR SPORTS: Enumclaw’s Kasey Kahne wins race in Rockingham, N.C.

McClatchy news servicesApril 16, 2012 

Enumclaw’s Kasey Kahne celebrated NASCAR’s return to Rockingham (N.C.) Speedway with a win Sunday in the Truck Series race.

The track was purchased at auction by Andy Hillenburg, and he successfully brought NASCAR back. The truck race was the first NASCAR-sanctioned event at The Rock since 2004.

Kahne held off James Buescher for the win. Kahne had to start at the back of the field because he didn’t qualify the truck Saturday while at the Sprint Cup race in Texas.

It was the fourth win in five career Truck Series races for Kahne, who finished seventh in the Cup race.

“This is probably the best weekend I’ve had in a long time,” Kahne said. “… It was a good weekend, tons of energy, and I’ll sleep good tonight when I finally decide to go to bed.”


Will Power kept Penske Racing perfect this season by picking his way through the field to win his second consecutive IndyCar Series race in Long Beach, Calif.

Power was one of the 11 Chevrolet drivers penalized for changing engines as a precautionary measure when teams reported to Long Beach. The punishment was 10 spots on the starting grid, so Power, who qualified second, started 12th.

Penske won the season-opening race with Helio Castroneves, and Power has won the past two. Simon Pagenuad was second, with James Hinchcliffe third.


Robert Hight became the fifth Funny Car driver to win four straight races, beating John Force, Cruz Pedregon and Ron Capps in the final of the NHRA Four-Wide Nationals in Concord, N.C.

Hight had a 4.076-second run at 314.83 mph in the unique event featuring racing in four lanes instead of two. Force, Pedregon, Don Prudhomme and Kenny Bernstein also have won four Funny Car events in a row.

Spencer Massey won the Top Fuel competition, and Greg Anderson topped the Pro Stock field.


Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg won the Chinese Grand Prix for his first career Formula One victory. … Poulsbo’s Ryan Villopoto raced to his fourth consecutive win and ninth in the first 14 rounds of the AMA Supercross season Saturday night at the Superdome in New Orleans.

The Olympian is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service