Radio man is Person of the Year

rboone@theolympian.comJanuary 29, 2013 

Jerry Farmer of 94.5 FM Roxy radio, a frequent emcee at events throughout Thurston County, is the Olympia Downtown Association’s Person of the Year for 2013, one of two people and one business that were recognized Monday night at Capital Playhouse as part of the ODA’s annual meeting.

Farmer was introduced Monday night by Phil Rollins, the Person of the Year for 2011 and longtime owner of downtown retailer Archibald Sisters.

Rollins noted in his prepared remarks that Farmer’s funny personality always is on display at the many events he emcees.

“He never seems to have a bad day,” Rollins said.

Farmer said he was “really, really humbled” to receive the award.

“I’m honored to be part of this community,” he told an audience of about 50 business owners and community leaders who had gathered for the meeting.

Also recognized Monday:

 • Business of the Year: Lucky Eagle Casino and General Manager John Setterstrom.

 • Volunteer of the Year: Mark Furman of Heritage Bank.

Lucky Eagle Casino was praised for its contributions to the entire county, while 2008 Person of the Year winner Blake Lindskog, also of Heritage Bank, accepted the award on behalf of Furman. Furman was unable to attend because he injured himself while skiing, Lindskog said.

Furman was recognized for his work with the ODA’s Music in the Park series.

“He has been an amazing person for downtown,” Lindskog said.

Before the awards were announced, Capital Playhouse actors performed a scene from an upcoming musical production called, “Next to Normal.” This was followed by a presentation on several historical sites that have been identified along Capitol Way for inclusion in an Olympia heritage corridor project.

Last year’s winner was Ruth Snyder, a former downtown code enforcement officer for the City of Olympia. Past winners choose who the next winner will be.


2013: Jerry Farmer.

2012: Ruthie Snyder.

2011: Phil Rollins.

2010: Janis Dean.

2009: Ray LaForge.

2008: Blake Lindskog.

2007: Larry Kessel.

2006: Kerry McHugh.

2005: Jeanne Carras.

2004: Jeffrey Trinin.

2003: Steve Cooper.

2002: Tim Koehler.

2001: Chris Gowdey.

2000: Paul Seabert.

Rolf Boone: 360-754-5403 Source: Olympia Downtown Association

The Olympian is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service