The Olympian’s recommendations for Nov. 5 vote

The OlympianNovember 2, 2013 

Endorsements for the Nov. 5 election.


South Sound voters have received ballots for the Nov. 5 general elections. Now it’s time to pick candidates and decide statewide initiatives. The Olympian editorial board has made its choices, as summarized below.

For the complete endorsement editorials in starred races, please go to:


Thurston County Auditor: Gary Alexander*

Port Commissioner, District No. 2 Thurston: Bill McGregor

Port Commissioner, District No. 3 Thurston: Jeff Davis*



Lacey City Council

Position No. 4: Cynthia R. Pratt*

Position No. 6: Michael R. Steadman*

Position No. 7: Virgil S. Clarkson*

Olympia City Council

Position No. 4: Cheryl Selby*

Position No. 5: Julie Hankins*

Position No. 6: Jeannine Roe

Position No. 7: Jim Cooper*

Tumwater City Council

Position No. 1: Nicole L. Hill

Position No. 4: M. John Way

Position No. 5: Ed Hildreth*

Position No. 6: Debbie Sullivan*


Tumwater Mayor: Pete Kmet

Olympia School Board,

District No. 3: Eileen Thomson*


Initiative 517: Vote No*

Initiative 522: Vote No*

The Olympian is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service