Signing Day: Tumwater's Feldmeier chooses Ole Miss, four T-Birds football players sign

mwochnick@theolympian.comFebruary 5, 2014 

On national signing day Wednesday, Tumwater High School’s Brooke Feldmeier dons an Ole Miss sweatshirt, ending the suspense of where she will compete as a college track athlete.


NOTE: A full Signing Day story, plus a chart of local athletes who signed letter-of-intent on Wednesday, will appear in Thursday's Olympian.

TUMWATER – For quite some time, Brooke Feldmeier has kept her friends and classmates in the dark on where she’s headed to college to compete in track and field.

From sweatshirts to lanyards, Feldmeier, a Tumwater High senior whose one of the West Coast’s most sought-after recruits, had items from all five of her officials college visits she took this fall and winter, and wore them on occasion to keep everyone outside of her family guessing on her college of choice.

But she was careful never to wear Mississippi paraphernalia until Wednesday on Signing Day when, during an unveiling ceremony at Tumwater High School, she pulled out a red Old Miss sweatshirt from a brown paper bag, and signed her national letter of intent to compete for the Rebels of the Southeastern Conference (SEC).

Feldmeier, who won Class 2A state titles in the 100 hurdles, 200 and 400 at last spring's Star Track, was one of six Tumwater seniors to sign letters-of-intent Wednesday. Distance runner Dawit Mengistu signed with Montana, while football players Nick Foerstel (Eastern Washington), Jayden Croft (Central Washington), Christian Cummings (Central Washington) and Gabe Gleizes (Western Oregon) will play at the next level.


Foerstel is one of three local players to join an Eagles squad that advanced to the FCS Division I semifinals in December. Joining him are Timberline’s Asan Neil-Evergin and Olympia’s Mitch Fettig.


W.F. West equaled Tumwater with four players signing on Wednesday, led by record-setting quarterback Tanner Gueller (Idaho State) of the Big Sky Conference. But NAIA Montana State Northern got three Bearcats -- Bowe McKay, Bryan Moon and Alex Cox. 



The Olympian is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service