Thurston County elected officials to be sworn in Tuesday

U.S. Rep. Denny Heck is slated to deliver a keynote speech during a swearing in ceremony for Thurston County’s newly elected officials.

The event, which is open to the public, will begin at 2 p.m. Tuesday at South Puget Sound Community College’s Kenneth J. Minnaert Center for the Arts, 2011 Mottman Road SW, Olympia.

The officials being sworn in include County Clerk Linda Enlow; County Commissioner Bud Blake; Coroner Gary Warnock; Prosecuting Attorney Jon Tunheim; Sheriff John Snaza; Treasurer Shawn Myers; District Court Judges Kalo Wilcox, Sam Meyer and Brett Buckley; and Public Utility District Commissioners Russ Olsen and Chris Stearns.

Auditor Mary Hall was sworn in on Dec. 22 so that she could do an early swearing in ceremony for Assessor Steven Drew who cannot participate Tuesday because of a scheduling conflict, voter outreach coordinator Valerie Walston said.