State Patrol welcomes 39 new troopers

The Washington State Patrol welcomed 39 new troopers during a ceremony at the Capitol Rotunda Wednesday.

The troopers were sworn in by Chief Justice Barbara Madsen of the Washington State Supreme Court, and presented their official commission cards by Gov. Jay Inslee and Chief John R. Batiste,

“The 39 cadets graduating (Wednesday) endured a rigorous application process, extensive background investigation and received the best training, unmatched anywhere else in the nation,” Batiste said

The new troopers completed more than 1,000 hours of training. The WSP Academy typically graduates two cadet classes every two years, producing between 60 and 120 new troopers, according to a press release.

Five of the new troopers are from Olympia. Brian Chase and Andrew Ramos will serve in Bellevue, Jeremy Delano will serve in Okanagan, Benjamin Ellis will serve in Bellingham and Chelsea Krotzer will serve in Gig Harbor.

Delano earned both the top driving award and the top overall cadet award.

Two of the new troopers are from Lacey. Cody Mueller Clarkston and Chase Van Cleave will serve in Bellevue.

Two Shelton residents, Daniel Swift and Anna Gasser, also graduated. Swift earned both the top firearms award and the top fitness award, and will serve in Hoquiam. Gasser will serve in Bellevue.

Brittany Crosby, of Roy, will serve in Ritzville, and Christopher Hendrickson, of Tenino, will serve in Hoquiam.