Thurston County candidate filings announced

Another 14 candidates filed to run for local offices in Thurston County late Tuesday and Wednesday, the third day of filing week. All filings were at the county Auditor’s Office.

Lacey City Council (nonpartisan) — Position 6: Ron Lawson.

Olympia City Council (nonpartisan) — Position 5: Stephen Buxbaum. Position 6: Jeannine Dellwo Roe.

Rainier City Council (nonpartisan) — Position 1: Kristin Guizzetti.

Griffin school board (nonpartisan) — Position 4: Neil Falkenburg, Thurston County.

Tumwater school board (nonpartisan) — Position 1: Rita Luce, Olympia.

Yelm school board (nonpartisan) — Position 1: Ed M. Sorger, Thurston County. Position 4: Debbie Edwards, Yelm.

Grand Mound-Rochester Fire District 1 commissioner (nonpartisan) — Position 2: Maurice W. Dick Jr., Rochester.

East Olympia Fire District 6 commissioner (nonpartisan) — Position 2: Richard C. Wells, Olympia (filed late Tuesday).

Tenino Fire District 12 commissioner (nonpartisan) — Position 2: Everett D. Evans, Tenino. Position 3: John Vanderhoof, Tenino.

Munn Lake Fire District 15 commissioner (nonpartisan) — Position 2: Rudy Horton, Olympia.

Tanglewilde Parks and Recreation commissioner (nonpartisan) — Position 2: Pat Williams, Lacey.

A total of 71 candidates have filed during the week. Filing closes at 5 p.m. Friday. In races drawing more than two candidates, the primary runoff election is Aug. 18; the general election is Nov. 3.

The Olympian