Election winners to be sworn in Dec. 29

The swearing in of recently elected local officials is planned Dec. 29 at the Thurston County Courthouse.

The public is invited to the 2 p.m. ceremony at the courthouse in Building 2, Room 129, at 2000 Lakeridge Drive S.E., according to Thurston County Auditor Kim Wyman.

Those being sworn in include most of the newly elected office holders in Thurston County. Among them are re-elected County Commissioner Karen Valenzuela, Port of Olympia commissioners Jeff Davis and Bill McGregor, four mayors, and council members from cities and towns including Lacey, Olympia, Tumwater, Yelm, Rainier, Tenino and Bucoda.

Also to be sworn in: various fire district commissioners and commissioners from the Tanglewilde park and recreation district and the Yelm cemetery district.

Auditor Wyman is administering the oaths of office, and Rep. Sam Hunt is the keynote speaker.