New year with no Tiger but endless possibilities

Uncertainty about a new PGA Tour season goes beyond the absence of Tiger Woods.

The winners-only field for the SBS Championship, which starts today, has only 28 players, including Ryan Moore of Puyallup. That matches the record for the smallest field since the tournament moved to the Plantation Course at Kapalua, Hawaii, in 1999.

Defending champion Geoff Ogilvy is the only player playing a who has won at Kapalua before, a rarity at a regular tournament. Only seven players from last year made it back to Maui by winning a PGA Tour event last year.

Woods is out indefinitely as he tries to salvage his family from the fallout of his extramarital affairs. Mickelson will start his season Jan. 28 in San Diego.


Fred Couples and Corey Pavin – both 15-time PGA Tour winners – will make their first official Champions Tour starts at the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai in Hawaii, starting Jan. 22.