Sounders Insider

Two Sounders named to MLS All-Star roster

Here’s the word from the club:

Major League Soccer today announced that Sounders FC defender Chad Marshall has been named to the 22-man roster that will take on Tottenham Hotspur in the 2015 AT&T MLS All-Star Game. This marks the second consecutive All-Star selection and fourth overall for Marshall, who joins Sounders FC forward Clint Dempsey in the July 29 matchup at Dick's Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colorado (6:00 p.m. PT / FOX Sports 1, UniMás, TSN and RDS).

Marshall, 30, makes his fourth career All-Star Game after he was selected in 2009, 2010 and 2014. Now in his second season with Seattle, the 2014 MLS Defender of the Year has appeared in 17 games for the Rave Green, logging 1,449 minutes and helping the club to a 0.95 goals-against-average this season (second in MLS). Marshall joins teammate Clint Dempsey on the 22-man All-Star Gameday Roster.

Sounders FC forward Obafemi Martins, the AT&T/EA SPORTS 'More Than a Vote' Tournament winner, was not named to the Gameday Roster due to injury but he is still considered a 2015 MLS All-Star.

The 22-man roster is comprised of 20 players selected by All-Star Head Coach Pablo Mastroeni, taking into consideration the Fan XI and MLS player voting, as well as the two Commissioner's Picks. The Gameday Roster, including representatives from 14 teams across MLS, is a mix of 12 All-Star newcomers and 10 All-Star veterans.


Goalkeeper: David Ousted (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Drew Moor (Colorado Rapids), Chris Tierney (New England Revolution)

Midfielders: Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Fabian Castillo (FC Dallas), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Steven Gerrard (LA Galaxy), Kaká (Orlando City SC), Frank Lampard (New York City FC), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), Kei Kamara (Columbus Crew SC), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), David Villa (New York City FC)